Beauty and the Beast – a poem

January 2013Normally, I incorporate dark humor in my poetry. This morning I’m feeling more serious.

Beauty and the Beast

I guess you’re gone.
I’m sorry to see you go.
But I won’t cry.

One day we die.
That’s a guarantee.
So, I’m alone. On my own.
I don’t care.
Go your way.
One day you’ll meet your doom.
One day so will I.
Live your life your way.
I live mine.

Life is a glorious gift.
Look at the moon,
the ancient stars,
the sun rising over the horizon.
I love it.

Hawk circles above me.
His shriek keeps
my courage firm.
Every morning hummingbird
hovers in my yard. I hear her
chirp and chatter,

hum and whir,
as she flits and flutters
feeding on flower’s nectar.
I walk in beauty.

But the world is horrible.
War, chaos, children shot dead.
Leaders mislead.
The rich amass wealth
to shit on golden thrones.
They live in luxury,
assume superiority,
protect themselves
against the hungry, helpless poor,
who get mad, rise and riot.

Go ahead. Leave.
It means nothing to me.

About Poet Dressed In Black

Poet living in San Francisco. I like telling stories too. I'm an introvert, and I like, need, solitude. I find that depth is a rare quality. Someone once said to me, "You're a very deep person. It must be really hard living like that. Most people aren't that deep." I said, "Yeah. It is hard. It really is."
This entry was posted in Poetry, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Beauty and the Beast – a poem

  1. andy1076 says:

    Beautiful and at the same time powerful, thank you 🙂

Comments are closed.