The Mayans Speak of a New Dawn, Not Doom

Pruned TreeEveryone has been talking about a Mayan doom prophecy. Everyone except the Mayans. I’ve heard Mayans speak about a new beginning. It’s a New Dawn, man, not the end of the world. It has to do with a special alignment of the planets today. It only occurs every I-forget-how-many thousands years. We are so lucky to be living in this moment!

I wonder if these people talking of this imaginary (or mistaken) Mayan doom prophecy even know that Mayans are still around.

The icebergs are melting. Hurricanes, tsunamis, unusual weather. Droughts to drenches. Extreme heat, extreme cold. Earthquakes. Unusual behavior in the animal kingdom. And even in humans. People going over the edge. It’s all related. Indigenous people know this. (But I think more and more people are starting to get the drift.) There have been a number of prayer ceremonies by indigenous people, including Mayans.

The New Dawn. Rainy morning Dec. 21, 2012.

A few months ago, here in San Francisco, there was a Water Blessing Ceremony lead by Mona Stonefish. (Only because of my goddamn anxiety and fear I didn’t try to find my way there. I so regret that this fear and anxiety limits me. But I’m working on it. I’m working on it.)

We are water, among other elements, but dry up the water and all we are is a small pile of dust. The imbalance that affects our Mother Earth also affects us humans, as much as it does the four-legged, the winged ones, the water creatures, all creeping and crawling creatures and the weather, which affects the earth, which affects all things on earth. It’s a cycle. Everything is interconnected.

Today is a New Dawn. I feel happy and hopeful. Maybe I’ll even make progress on overcoming my fears and anxieties, so I don’t limit myself so much. I wish everyone blessings and all good wishes!

About Poet Dressed In Black

Poet living in San Francisco. I like telling stories too. I'm an introvert, and I like, need, solitude. I find that depth is a rare quality. Someone once said to me, "You're a very deep person. It must be really hard living like that. Most people aren't that deep." I said, "Yeah. It is hard. It really is."
This entry was posted in Autobiographical, Philosophical and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.